Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2021, 05:50 AM - 4 Likes   #1276
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by robbiec Quote
Look at poor Sandy, he has to buy a K3 iii, DA*16-50PLM and the 21 Limited this year and that's on top of the DFA*85 last year ,
. Huh. That's nothing. If I buy the K3III, then I'll have to maintain 3 formats, from medium through FF to apsc. I weep not for Sandy, as I am not a doctor.
QuoteQuote:
the point I'm making is that Pentax are dropping the new stuff in manageable amounts
Yes, thank the gods for that, or else I'd have to rent a storage unit to hold my gear, while I lived under an overpass....my wife would leave me, but then she'd be better off most likely.

04-10-2021, 05:59 AM - 2 Likes   #1277
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by TwoUptons Quote
Pentax used to sell a lot of cameras to doctors, but I think they left that part of the brand with Hoya when Ricoh bought the part we use...

I hope they don’t go full-on Leica/Zeiss, as even some of us who can call ourselves doctor can’t afford that...

-Eric
Not full on but with a clear gap between it and the mass market consumer orientated stuff. They are targeting Zeiss with the DFA*'s and Leica through the Limited series, while accommodating another market segment both don't dare attempt and that is the wild any weather adventure outdoors photography. The vision statement supports this, its as much a sensory and tactile approach to photography moreso than numbers and tests. Leica are the best in selling this philosophy and have done very successfully doing so. Zeiss are still regarded as the pinnacle in optical performance and are a useful datum for Pentax (still an Optical house remember) to compare against. Where Pentax have an advantage is ergonomics, use ability over Leica and the ability to tune a camera system to their optics over Zeiss.