Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2020, 03:58 AM   #76
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Serkevan Quote
0.5m is at 70mm. At 200mm the MFD is about 1m (same mag apparently).

The better example is the Pentax FA* 80-200/2.8. MFD of 1.4m, magnification of 0.19x.
But still, how much better is 0.2x than 0.13x? Does that mean that at 200mm and the minimum focus distance the Pentax is 140mm and the 150mm? I'm not good with maths, but it doesn't sound like a big difference to me.

09-26-2020, 05:16 AM   #77
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
But still, how much better is 0.2x than 0.13x? Does that mean that at 200mm and the minimum focus distance the Pentax is 140mm and the 150mm? I'm not good with maths, but it doesn't sound like a big difference to me.
The FA* is substantially "longer" (very airquoted) than the DFA* near minimum focus distance... I don't feel confident in putting a number to it because I'm not sure about the formula to estimate FL from magnification and MFD - and I don't think the behaviour affects performance THAT much anyway. If I were to take a wild guess and say the DFA* looks closer to a 135mm then the FA* should be above 150mm. But it's really something that wouldn't inform my purchase, I think.