Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2008, 05:14 AM   #16
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Gus Quote
You can get yourself a forwarding address. Have a look here:
MyUS - US Mail Forwarding, Worldwide Shipping

These guys are very professional, I've been using their services for almost 10 years. Couriers like DHL and others are also availing such services (check with your local couriers). Some offer consolidation, others don't. It also pays to have different forwarding addresses, for example one in New York and one in Florida so that you wouldn't have to pay US taxes, depending on retailer location. Some forwarding services only require a one time fee, others are subscription based (myus.com is the latter). But what I'm trying to say is that one can afford to have both.

The beauty of Amazon is that they accept international credit cards, something most other US retailers refuse to do (well B&H and Adorama have no problem and they will ship internationally, although the verification process can delay the order two to three days as I'm sure you're all aware).

Myus.com can also order on your behalf, for a percentage (6 to 10%), from retailers that don't accept international payments, but I try to avoid this route to keep prices attractive.

To ship the K20D from B&H directly to my location was about $110~$120, using the forwarding address cost me only $70. Not bad, eh?
Not bad at all, Gus, thanks for that. I've been aware of these services for awhile but never really got around to taking advantage of them. I'll have to rethink that.

Yep, I've bought from Adorama and they are a pleasure to deal with. No problem with credit cards, very reasonable international shipping fees and fast service.

12-08-2008, 05:28 AM   #17
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums