Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Will Pentax go Pro?

Will Pentax go Pro? When I say Pro, I mean a camera that many of the Canon and Nikon journalists as well as commercial photographers require. I am a pro and have no problem with the K20D, but there are those out there that demand faster AF, synch speed and FPS. Pentax is still fringe in the pro market and I would love to see a Flagship Model.

Will a pro Pentax increase the stature of their brand?

Ben

Oh and Happy New Year to all.

Last edited by benjikan; 01-02-2009 at 05:58 AM.
01-01-2009, 09:51 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Hi Ben,

The K20D has great IQ, and I'd like better AF and FPS.

Anything else is gravy, since I have such great glass. It's a shame that's it's discontinued or special order from Japan. A fuller long lens lineup would be nice, and I'm not afraid to say I'd shoot with two systems, but I have different needs to be met.

Happy New Year!

Regards,
Marc
01-01-2009, 10:28 AM   #3

Hi Ben, I don't think pentax will have a "pro" camera now like caikon but a better AF, a bigger buffer, and an integrated battery grip would do it for me. How difficult would that be?
01-01-2009, 10:43 AM   #4

Well the AF on the PZ-1P and the MZ-S was and is faster than the K20D, so they already have the problem solved with film, so why not in digital?

For some reason it does not seem to be a priority with Pentax, so time will tell if they want to do it, since they have already proven that they can.

Tom

01-01-2009, 10:47 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteQuote: