Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2009, 07:13 PM   #46
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by ogl Quote
Some of DA and DA*lenses can't cover 23.5*23.5 mm sensor.
For example, DA14 can cover only 23.5*18.6 mm, DA*16-50 just a bit more.
Some zooms can cover APS-H, some can not.

Square sensor is only for FF lenses and several DA.
Aren't lenses round? If it can cover 23.5mm on one edge, shouldn't it be able to cover 23.5 on the other edge too? I'm no expert here, but it's what makes sense to me

02-15-2009, 07:30 PM   #47

QuoteOriginally posted by jay Quote
We should all get together and design a 50 MP full-frame sensor with back-illumination and fluorite microlenses and set up a 450mm wafer size fab process and just make our own damn cameras :-)

We could pull it off. Right?

RIGHT?
Yup. But instead of making a new camera, let's put that sensor in the back of my K2.
02-15-2009, 07:40 PM   #48
ogl
Banned

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by soccerjoe5 Quote
Aren't lenses round? If it can cover 23.5mm on one edge, shouldn't it be able to cover 23.5 on the other edge too? I'm no expert here, but it's what makes sense to me
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/31629-da-lens-...ts-thread.html

take DA14 and 16-50's pictures from film here and calculate in Photoshop the size of covering

02-15-2009, 08:50 PM   #49
jay
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by soccerjoe5 Quote
No, because the diagonal of a square 23.5 x 23.5 is longer than the diagonal of an APS-C.

Draw a circle.

Draw a rectangle inscribed in the circle.

Now, draw a SQUARE whose width and height are the same size as the WIDTH of that rectangle.

Notice that it doesn't fit into that circle; the corners extend beyond the circle.