Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2009, 12:20 AM   #31
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
for applications like backpacking or canyoneering where every ounce count, the smaller size of this lens is awesome! If I had the money, I'd buy this + Km and make one sweet canyoneering kit.

03-03-2009, 08:50 AM   #32

Photos: Albums
I have to say I'm thrilled about this one as well. The 49mm filter really sold it for me, as you can now have anything from 15 wide to 100mm macro as a small(ish) prime with the 49mm filter size.
For me, this will complete my kit beautifully: 35/2 normal, 50/1.4 portrait lens, and a 15/4 wide. All using the same filters, all fitting easily in an inconspicuous photo bag. Maybe sometime I'll swap the 50 for the 77 and the 35/2 for the 35 macro, but in any case there are a great variety of "have it your way" kits to piece together.

I'm not an expert on other brands' offerings, but it seems to me that Pentax is the undisputed champion in the area of small, sharp primes now. There are a lot of photographers that would dig this quality and setup. I know it will be ideal for me for weddings, street photography, and backpacking. Sport and wildlife photographers might be out, but it looks like Pentax is (wisely?) choosing to let the big dogs fight for that turf, while they quietly target markets that are less saturated.
03-03-2009, 08:53 AM   #33
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Eigengrau Quote

I'm not an expert on other brands' offerings, but it seems to me that Pentax is the undisputed champion in the area of small, sharp primes now.
Pentax absolutely has a lock on this niche.
03-03-2009, 10:38 AM   #34
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by grainbelt Quote
Given that the 16-45 is supposed to be nearly distortion free on the wide end, can someone explain the rationale of a prime that is 1mm wider, no faster, and twice the cost?