Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2009, 12:01 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Take off a 0 and you're closer. Remember how abundant Silicon is.

03-08-2009, 01:37 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Jewelltrail Quote
LOL Aint it the truth!

Hey, we know Mike Cash--I'll bet he'll do this for us.
Anyone wishing to send me $20,000 is cordially invited to do so.
03-08-2009, 05:20 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Expect this camera body to be special order only and will retail somewhere between $15 and 20k USd.

If I was a portrait/wedding photographer for a living and it was my only profession AND making me serious money...I'd be interested, otherwise, I could care less.

Jason
03-08-2009, 06:53 AM   #19
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jct us101 Quote
If they marketed it right and sold it below $10,000, then they'd have a great selling margin, and even though they wouldn't be profiting AS MUCH on each unit, they'd still be profiting from the volume of sales. Now if someone would just explain that to them then we'd be fine.
QuoteOriginally posted by Peter Zack Quote
I've heard sensors that size cost $5000 or more alone (I have no idea if that's true). Assuming that's close to correct, adding all the other costs of design, production etc. There's no way this camera could come in at $10K.

The P45 MSRP is $37999.00 and the $32,000 Hasselblad H3D would make it unlikely the Pentax could come in at $10 K.

Making money on volume is a fallacy. You still need margins no matter how many you sell. GM would be a good example of that.
QuoteOriginally posted by jct us101 Quote
Take off a 0 and you're closer. Remember how abundant Silicon is.