Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-31-2010, 08:39 AM   #61
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by knoxploration Quote
...The point was simply that, as stands, there's nothing that even third-party software can hook into to activate tethering on the K-7. It would require a firmware update from Pentax or a third-party, before the K-7 could offer tethering with *any* software.
Hmmm. I'm not sure. Playing around with several of those freeware tethering applications for Nikon and other brands got me thinking that perhaps the issue may very well be just at the client end, for some if not all tethering features. I'm not a programmer, but it almost looked like all that was causing some of those apps to fail was that they were looking for a Nikon identifier in the data coming back from the camera.

08-31-2010, 09:17 AM   #62
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote
Hmmm. I'm not sure. Playing around with several of those freeware tethering applications for Nikon and other brands got me thinking that perhaps the issue may very well be just at the client end, for some if not all tethering features. I'm not a programmer, but it almost looked like all that was causing some of those apps to fail was that they were looking for a Nikon identifier in the data coming back from the camera.
I can't speak for the K-x as I never bothered to try PTP / tethering with it, knowing it wasn't supported in the K-7. I did try it with the K-7 though, and when there's a PTP connection, all imaging functionality of the camera shuts down. (LCD displays all switch off, buttons all stop functioning, shutter cannot be remotely triggered with any software.)

At least, that was the case last I checked. Haven't checked again since the latest K-7 firmware update.