Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2013, 11:30 PM - 14 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Ricoh GR Hands-on and Lots of Photos...

Hi All,

I got chance to play a GR for two days, well actually only one night plus one day only. This was the first time I really take photos w/ a GR series digital cameras, although I had a GR1 film camera about 14-15 years back.

The GR camera felt at home almost immediately even w/o much pre experiences w/ GRD cameras, all the buttons and settings are logically located at the right places. The operation is pretty fast and easy, it's really a joy to hold and shoot w/ this camera.

I'm not good at doing reviews, and it's pretty hard for me to put my feelings in words (thanks to my poor language skills :embrass. For me the best way to review a camera or lens is to put it in actual use instead of shooting at meaningless charts or targets. So I'll just post some photos and let them talk for me

Is this a good camera? Well, I sold my Fujifilm X100 after I've looked through some photos I took w/ this little gem.

I didn't do much setting changes, used default settings for most photos I took except a few photos taken with manual white balance. The battery was rated for 300-330 shots per charge, but I managed to squeeze 768 shots in one day one charge! Yeah, the battery did die a couple of times, but I switched camera off then on, and kept shooting until it I couldn't turn it on anymore. Total 768 JPG photos taken, with quite some preview and showing the photos to the kids. Far better than I expected!

Enough words, let's show some pictures:

There is an adapter ring which can be easily taken off:

A wide angle converter (21mm equivalent on FF) can be adapted on easily:

It comes w/ a nice hood too:

This round Ricoh really put in effort to get all kinds of accessories ready for the little camera: leather pouch, half case, wide angle converter and etc: