Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-05-2015, 01:05 AM   #1

Ricoh GR for backpacking?

Hi there, my what a nice forum you have here, it would be a shame if something...
Sorry, wrong intro, my bad, slipped into business mode.

I come to you only as a humble peasant seeking wisdom, knowledge and enlightenment.
For a few months now, I've had my GR and I absolutley adore it. I have taken it with me to the streets and a short-ish trip to visit the family in the countryside, and there are a few shots I am pleased with.

Now, please take note, that the GR is my first ever camer. Not my first fixed lens camera, not my first prime-lens camera, no, it's my first ever camera, so it is quite safe to assume that I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to taking pretty pictures.

As for what brings me here: In a few months time, I'll go on a long backpacking trip through south-east asia, and of course I want to be able to take pictures during my holidays there.
Pictures of: The people I travel with
The places I get to
The people I encounter
Etc...
And I can't help but wonder if the GR is up to the task, or if something with a zoom wouldn't be a better idea, such as a Sony RX10 or a K30/50 with an 18-135mm (I already considered an RX100, but if it came down to either my GR or the RX100, I'd go with the GR all day every day, it's just much nicer to use). I want to travel as light as possible but I am willing to carry as much as necessary to be able to take nice picture, though I'd very much prefer not to carry more than one lens with me.

What, oh wise ones, is your take on this, What would you do and what would you recommend?

01-05-2015, 01:54 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Here's a review from an Indonesian photographer which might be helpful. He addresses some of your issues.
Ricoh GR : All the Camera I Need ? Wira Nurmansyah
It convinced me to buy one for myself for Xmas.
01-05-2015, 02:00 AM   #3
Veteran Member