Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2019, 12:12 PM - 14 Likes   #1

As my Ricoh GR is in its last breaths, a "thank you for the awesome journey" post

Hi everybody,

been a long long time lurker and never really felt the urge to post. But these days, especially on my stopover in Montreal, I noticed that after several years of severe abuse my Ricoh GR wants to retire. And I realized I never had the chance to express what an awesome little camera it is! You always read about the flaws of the camera by all the haters, the love for the camera by enthusiasts on the other side. I want to add my coin to the pile of people thinking it is the best camera ever

Here`s our story:

Bought it a few years ago because as a young field biologist I got fed up with carrying around a heavy DSLR, Macro lense and an external flash. Did that with the Pentax KR, Sigma 105 mm Macro, a Metz Flash etc. to having a K-01 with me (same lenses and flash). Got fed up because back then I was not in shape and colombian hills can be quite steep and bothersome to walk up. Did some research, and as I did not want to downgrade on image quality, and after seeing what lovely pictures the camera produces, I got my copy of the Ricoh GR.

Not one single day did I regret that decision. On the contrary, I regret every single day that I waited to get it.

Enough words, the only thing I wish was a bit better on the original Ricoh GR after all the years and the thousands of pictures would be 1) weather sealing (I am working in the tropical rainforests of South America... ) 2) a closer macro focus distance and 3) a bit of a higher video quality. Except for that, which is crying on a high level, I was totally convinced by the image quality and the specs the camera has/had to offer.

Now it is time to save money for a Ricoh GRIII!