Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2019, 11:38 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
GRIII Sleep Mode and Auto Power Off with Wide Angle Adapter Lens

I'm new to world of GR cameras and recently picked up a GRIII. Really enjoying the camera. Under the Power Supply Settings, I have the Sleep Mode and the Auto Power Off Mode both set two one minute, which typically works as advertised. But I just picked up the GW-4 Wide Angle Lens and the GA-1 Lens Adapter. I discovered with the lens and lens adapter attached, the camera will not go into either Sleep Mode or Auto Power Off Mode. I actually did RTFM the manual, and though there are situations where the Sleep Mode and Auto Power Off Mode do not function, having the lens adapter attached does not appear to be one of them.

It's not really a big deal for me, as I'm in the habit of manually turning off the camera when I'm not shooting, but thought this was interesting. Anyone else have this experience?

12-15-2019, 09:45 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thanks for identifying that observation. I am sure this will be fixed in a future firmware update
01-19-2021, 01:59 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by david94903 Quote
I'm new to world of GR cameras and recently picked up a GRIII. Really enjoying the camera. Under the Power Supply Settings, I have the Sleep Mode and the Auto Power Off Mode both set two one minute, which typically works as advertised. But I just picked up the GW-4 Wide Angle Lens and the GA-1 Lens Adapter. I discovered with the lens and lens adapter attached, the camera will not go into either Sleep Mode or Auto Power Off Mode. I actually did RTFM the manual, and though there are situations where the Sleep Mode and Auto Power Off Mode do not function, having the lens adapter attached does not appear to be one of them.