Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 104 Likes Search this Thread
12-26-2012, 10:34 AM   #871
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Fogel70 Quote
How much did all this change for Sony when they releases FF DSLR?
None. Sony's entry was really not a very good camera for a great deal of FF photographers. Very poor high ISO, poor frame rate IIRC (I'm not an expert on Sony).

12-26-2012, 10:36 AM   #872
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
Pentax lack of FF glass is something they would have to solve.
They need two 2.8 zooms and a cheaper standard zoom. Stuff third parties have of course, but it's still only three lenses.

A wider-angle-than 31mm would be nice, as would a wide-angle zoom, but those don't need to be available at launch.
12-26-2012, 10:57 AM   #873
Pentaxian

I agree, for the beginning they can get away with few lenses, and a sensible roadmap.
APS-C cameras sells in much higher volumes than FF, so this is less of a problem for APS-C. But it shows that Pentax has to use same parts in many cameras to get economics of scale.

When mass-producing something you you need to go over a certain volume for R&D and other cost not to add to much on the manufacturing cost. And below a certain volume the components you buy might get much more expensive. This will most likely be a bigger issue for Pentax than Canikon when it comes to FF cameras.
The same is true for the big two; it's most visible in the D600, which can be seen as a full frame D7000.
Indeed, it's more difficult for Pentax because of the lower volumes; otherwise they would have a FF already. But I can see a high end APS-C, a FF and a DMF sharing a new, improved platform.

It will probably take years for Pentax to have a full line of FF glass.