Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20 Likes Search this Thread
12-23-2013, 05:25 AM - 4 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I switched to FF

I'm not the most active member here. A lot of that has to do with me selling my K5 earlier this year and getting a D800.

Allow me to preface this with saying that the D800 is a terrific camera and well, well beyond my pathetic skill levels.

But.... I wish I hadn't.

Probably because the D800 is so far beyond my abilities and as a hobbyist I just dont have the time to put into bringing my skills up to even close. I love my photography, but thats life I guess.
But the nutshell version is that I just haven't bonded with the Nikon as I had with my K5. Where the K5 urged me to pick it up and play with it, use it, and basically not leave it alone. I just dont get that from the Nikon.
So what I'm saying is that if you're champing at the bit to go FF; my *personal* experience tells me - dont. Sure, if you've got the time and patience to invest into a whole new system and replace all your kit, then awesome. But I've just found it to be soooo much more than a) I need, and b) I can use.
So (for as long as I've been a member here) Pentaxians have been going on (and on, and on, and on) about a FF camera, I would hazard a guess that for a fair chunk of people "it's just not necessary" <- to be read with James May in your head.

If I was to do it again and with a good dose of hind sight - I wouldn't have done it. I would have hung onto my gorgeous K5 and would now be looking at the K3 for Xmas.
In fact I will give the D800 the summer, and if I still feel the same - it will go and a K5/ii or a K3 will come and I'll rebuilding my beloved Pentax lens collection again (starting with my fave, the Sigma 20-40mm 2.8)

12-23-2013, 07:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Lurch Quote