Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 45 Likes Search this Thread
07-27-2014, 12:19 AM   #316

QuoteOriginally posted by cali92rs Quote
You guys may argue all you want about how useless it is...but the fact of the matter is that plenty of people do use it because they want their FF lenses to look how they looked on their 35mm cameras, hence Lens Turbos and Metabones. The existence of those products proove that there are MANY people that care enough about getting equivalent pictures across different formats that they are willing to pay hundreds of dollars. So you can stick your fingers in your ears and say "its useless its useless its useless", but the money changing hands prove otherwise.
I wonder if the increased speed is not the bigger motivating factor here?

07-27-2014, 01:33 AM   #317
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by wilton Quote
I'm sorry to jump in on a discussion that's way above my head but please stop quoting this! I am a noob and say so without any reservations but, I have never measured the size of a sensor or a piece of film. I do accept that someone might have done that and I accpet that 50mm in FF is normal, that someone else measured an APS-C and said 30mm is normal I have to accept that too. I think however that they just did the math based on one measurement. I don't even know where to find the documented diagonal for a 1/2.3 sensor, or who measured it so I don't even know what's normal there.
Sorry... what? Are you upset because decades ago, people agreed to call a lens "normal" if its focal length is roughly the same as the frame's diagonal? And you'd like to silence me, the others who know this, and burn all the books that were written on the subject?