Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2014, 07:48 AM   #121
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Nicolas06 Quote
My understanding is film as more tolerance on highlight and digital sensor like K5 have more tolerance on shadows
To continue a little off topic and as a current film photographer, I will chime in here. Your understanding is definitely accurate in regards to highlights and only partially accurate for shadows. Current digital cameras have better dynamic range than past models (about 12 stops* for the K-3 at base ISO), but still clip at both the high and low ends of the value scale.

The better color negative films (e.g. Kodak Ektar 100 and Portra 160) will support 12+ stops of dynamic range with a high tolerance for over-exposure. Color slide films traditionally have somewhat less range (about 8 stops). B&W negative films can support 14+ stops with appropriate development techniques. Forum user Tuco regularly produces film images with elements spanning a huge dynamic range while maintaining detail and pleasing tonality throughout.

Yo Tuco's Pyro B&W on Flickr

Steve

* Dynamic range is generally expressed as "stops" of exposure or as EV, though some (following Ansel Adams) will use "zones".

Last edited by stevebrot; 08-23-2014 at 11:33 AM.
08-23-2014, 10:46 AM   #122
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote
There's is only one person I know of, who shot one image with a K-01 and one with a D800 and showed the images printed at A3 to an independent person who didn't know which was which... and the results were inconclusive.
That's actually something I keep saying all the time ... the advantages of a larger sensor are invisible in many cases. Just not always.

Even between my 1" RX100m3 and FF D800E, many of my images are indistiguishable if not pixel-peeped. Esp. at day light and within the 24-70mm range.