Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2016, 06:05 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K1 and performance with 20mm A f2.8, 24mm f2.8 A, and 20-35 FA F4

Hello All.

This spring I will be traveling to the Galapagos Islands with my class. I am mostly a nature photographer, but I do landscapes as well. Anyway I am a professor on a limited budget so I'm thinking about what directions I might go with equipment.

My current camera bodies that I have are K3, K5IIs, and K7 (won't bring the later though). I have a mix of film lenses and APS lenses. My widest APS lenses are 15mm DA f4, 12-24 f4, and 18-55 DAW. As noted in the title my widest film-era lenses outside of fish eye that I have are the 20mm f2.8 A, 24mm f2.8 A, and the FA 20-35.

I have given serious thought to the K1. But there is no way I can afford the K1 and the new Tamron/Pentax 15-30. So:

If I WERE to get a K1 would I get a substantially better landscape image with my older film-body lenses over what I can get with a K3 or K5IIs with my APS lenses? It's clear that the K1 with the 15-30 are jaw dropping, but I appreciate that older lenses may not give you the same level of performance.

Thanks!

11-20-2016, 06:31 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Acquiring the new 15-30 may enable you to call a couple of the older lenses redundant so they could be sold to help fund the new purchase. Say, sell 24 f/2.8A and 20-35 FA f/4 and maybe even 20 f/2.8 because the 15-30 pretty much covers them all? That new lens could also mount on K3, K5II, etc so would you keep 15 DA f/4 if funds were tight?
Just speculating stemked, you might find a way to rearrange your gear and make it possible.
The new lens on a K1 would likely be a quantum leap in IQ above your present outfit.
11-20-2016, 06:36 AM   #3
pid
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by From1980 Quote