Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2017, 01:33 PM   #1

Help me Decide?

So I am sitting here on my couch surrounded by my gear... trying to decide if I should sell my APSC bodies and move to the K-1. I have said for years that when Pentax released their FF body I would switch, but in reality I just haven't used my DSLR cameras all that much over the years. I tend to take pictures with whatever high end pocket camera I posses at the time.. .being a fly fisherman and back packer I just tend to have it in hand more often. I have been a serious photographer in the past.. starting back in 1985 with my first Pentax SuperProgram... and then switching to a 645 for years...until I switched to digital with the k10d after I returned from my first tour in Iraq,,, 2004ish. I consider myself a landscape photographer, but I will also use the new camera on guide trips, I am now a fly fishing guide to take, some high end photos for my clients. So here is what I have,,, my estimate for what they are worth,,please correct me if I am wrong. As you will see my shutter counts are embarrassingly low on my last three bodies,,, feel free to bash me... I was an active duty Marine for 24 years and just didn't have the time to dedicate... I am now retired.. much more time on my hands

K7 body-- 989 clicks... might get $150?
K5 body-- 858 clicks.. maybe $250-300
K3 body-- 982 clicks maybe $450-500
Pentax DA* 50-135 $450??
Pentax DA 12-24 $300??
Sigma 105 Macro $300?? fixed thanks to photolady95

Those are the lenses I figure will not work with the K1..please let me know if I am wrong or should keep one to use in crop mode? I also have the following lenses that should work with the K1.

Pentax FA 77mm
Pentax FA 31mm
Tamron 28-75 XR DI
Tamron 70-200 LD DI SP etc etc etc
Sigma 50-500

So if I sell all the APSC stuff I can get pretty close to the cost of a K1 body... have a bit of a tax return to pick up another FF lens if needed...