Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 27 Likes Search this Thread
09-16-2017, 09:58 AM - 1 Like   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Scorpio71GR Quote
The days of the FA*600 and FA*250-600 are long gone. The lenses are simply too expensive to develop and manufacture for the amount that will be sold.
Precisely - they used to make them (incidentally, in days when Pentax had a larger market share) and not enough people bought them to justify the production cost, so they stopped making them. There is obviously a chicken and egg situation by which Pentax loses market share because they don't have the lenses people want, but at least they don't produce a full-on action camera (A9) without them.

09-16-2017, 10:30 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Though I have and enjoy my K-1, I've been shooting wildlife and sports with Canon bodies for the past ten years. I would suggest you add the Nikon 200-500 f5.6 to your list as the optical quality may surpass the Sigma Sport. I'm not convinced that the Sigma Sport is any better than the Sigma Contemporary; I've rented the latter on my Canon 5D Mark III. I compared it with the Tamron G1 150-600mm and thought they were essentially the same; I've owned the Tamron G2 for the past year and think it is better than the Sigma Contemporary optically and IS-wise. The D750 is a nice camera, but the build quality is a step below both the K-1 and the Canon 5D franchise. I've borrowed the D500 and think that is the best wildlife camera available, amazingly accurate AF and excellent resolution. That plus the 200-500mm should get you far.
Lens Rentals | Blog

M
09-16-2017, 11:41 AM - 1 Like   #18
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Paul the Sunman Quote
I have a K-1, K-3, K-5 and a cupboard full of K-mount lenses (mostly Pentax). Broadly, I am a very happy Pentaxian, and love the K-1.