Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2013, 12:35 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
For those not pre-ordering... when will you buy?

A lot of people are pre-ordering their K-3 units. For as much as I would love to have a K-3, I'm going to wait.

I just got my K-30 in June and my shutter count is only 5.8k. The K-30 is still a better camera than I am a photographer and I don't feel like I have reached enough of the camera's limits yet. So far I have bumped into high ISO noise for indoor photography and bad rendering of reds. The screw-driven auto-focus feels like an elastic limit getting stiffer.

$1300 is probably a reasonable price for all the technology inside the K-3 but that's a steep hill for me and my wallet to climb right now, especially with a K-30 already in my hands. Maybe when it falls below $900, like the K5-II is today, I would find it easier to upgrade.

I would still like to see a sensor comparison study or a studio shot comparison like on DP Review before I upgrade.

If I had an older generation model with some "character marks" then I would be quicker to upgrade.

How about you? Are you watching from the sidelines too?

10-08-2013, 12:40 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by 6BQ5 Quote
I think many people have waited long enough. Including me.
Like "pre-ordering" many of us have been "pre-waiting".

10-08-2013, 12:41 PM   #3

When I get enough money
10-08-2013, 12:43 PM   #4
Veteran Member