Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-31-2021, 09:03 AM - 1 Like   #91171
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Parallax Quote
There was also a drill that worked the same way.
From what I remember my dad may have had that tool too. The uncle was related to us, so we may have gotten some Yankee tools as Xmas gifts. My dad swore by them, not at them ...they were excellent quality.

07-31-2021, 09:27 AM - 4 Likes   #91172
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Another reason to NOT live in California.
Bacon may disappear in California as pig rules take effect
07-31-2021, 09:35 AM - 4 Likes   #91173
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
As if there was a dearth of reasons before.

I grew up there. I graduated High School in June and left the state in July. Looking back in later years I've wondered why I waited a month.
07-31-2021, 10:36 AM - 2 Likes   #91174
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by lesmore49 Quote
Didn't have the time when I was a working man.

07-31-2021, 11:22 AM - 1 Like   #91175
Pentaxian

An uncle of mine was a salesman, an excellent one who later had his own manufacturer's agent company. One of the products he sold, up here, was the Yankee Screwdriver. This would be back in the 1950's and '60's.

My dad had one and as you say, it was an excellent product. I don't know what became of ours, possibly lost during my parent's couple of house moves.

I have used the Yankee Screwdriver, many decades ago and it still sticks in my mind as one of the best tools I've used. I recall it was well built.
Nowadays I use a battery powered driver, but still have the Yankee screwdriver I used as a young man. A fine tool which will likely outlast me. Sigh.
07-31-2021, 11:28 AM - 4 Likes   #91176
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Parallax Quote
As if there was a dearth of reasons before.