Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2013, 06:09 AM   #1

Which system?

Hi, I am a newbie here and also with Pentax cameras. I have been using Sony cameras for about six years. Therefore I am shopping for an upgrade. Recently bought a new camera for my wife when I noticed a Pentax K-5 II. I had the pleasure of using it for a few days and must say I enjoyed it. I never really even considered Pentax before until I had this opportunity. I must say in all honesty I liked it very much. I had quite good results with the 18-55mm lens. At present I am considering the Pentax K-3. I was considering a Nikon D610 but it is more money than I want to invest. My objective is to find a camera such as the K-3 but haven't got a clear insight on high iso performance. Also what lenses and flashes anyone would recommend as I do some weddings,etc. Just to note that this will probably be my last upgrade so I want to get all good stuff. Thank you in advance for your help...:-)

11-24-2013, 07:43 AM   #2
Banned

Photos: Gallery
Well the K-3 is a great camera. So that is safe t start with.

Lenses is something different, since it comes all to the focal lengths you want to use.

I'd say look into the Limited series for some Jewels.
11-24-2013, 08:20 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Lenses: If you go straight to the FA Limited primes you can't really go wrong. They cost a lot of money, sure, but for what you get they're not expensive. Leica is expensive. The Pentax-FA 31mm f/1.8 Limited and Pentax-FA 77mm f/1.8 Limited. Some also recommend the Pentax-FA 43mm f/1.9 Limited. I don't have this lens so can't say anything about it. Have seen some great work with it mind.

You could try and find an FA 85mm f/1.4, but tricky to find.