Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
12-06-2013, 09:32 AM   #1

Preset options like in Pentax K-30 has ceased to be K-3

Just began playing with my new Pentax K-3 (I'm a beginner at DSLR) - and jumping from my previous Pentax K-30 (just had it for 6-7 months, sold now), I immediately noticed the lack of one of the beginners favorite options on the K-30:

The scene selector (SCN) on the Mode dial (giving access to various automatic exposure modes) has ceased to be - and by that many options for automatic preset modes that was possible once SCN was selected in my precious Pentax camera - is no more. It seems to be bereft of life, gone to meet it's maker(s), it's pushing up the daisies.

Now, the Pentax K-3 has another option marked with a green rectangle. I assume this is meant to replace the SCN option on K-30 - but there is absolutely nothing of interest on the LCD screen when you chose the green rectangle. By that I mean no options for preset photographing are shown on the screen. Not a sausage. Zero.

As a beginner I really liked the presets and I used them quite a bit for experimenting - so my question is if there in K-3 is an option to bring forth presets like the ones in K-30?

12-06-2013, 09:42 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Ztrejfer Quote
As a beginner I really liked the presets and I used them quite a bit for experimenting - so my question is if there in K-3 is an option to bring forth presets like the ones in K-30?
Unfortunately the k-3 is not a beginners camera and scene modes are not available. They were not available on the k-5 or k-5II either as these are part of Pentax's higher end line. If you feel you need those modes possibly you would be better off returning the k-3 and looking into the k-50.