Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-11-2013, 09:01 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
What a crappy piece of software.

I'm a retired software engineer, if I were still working and had worked on the software that comes with the K-3 I'd be just plain embarrassed. Did they do any testing other than the most rudimentary?
I accidentally switched to .PEF files which none of the software known to man (including the software that comes with the k-30, which was a pretty weak product itself) recognizes. The mere existence of the ability to switch to PEF files is a different thorn in my side, why bother creating them when you already could produce perfectly good DNG files. At any rate, I tried to installed the software on my Windows 7 64 bit systems, so I could change these files to DNG files and work on them in LR. On my laptop it installed and would start, then I found it to have an absolutely terrible GUI, what don't more software companies hire GUI design and testing guys, got me. On my desktop which has even faster CPUs and more memory it wouldn't even start.
Sorry just had to rant! Want to hear my opinion of the manual compared to the K-30 manual. I just hope that as I move forward I'm not as disappointed with the K-3 as I am with it's supporting items.

12-11-2013, 09:04 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Perhaps Ricoh should come out with a decent RAW editor and charge for it, like Nikon does...

Capture NX 2 - Full Version (Boxed) from Nikon
12-11-2013, 09:20 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Catscradle Quote
...if I were still working and had worked on the software that comes with the K-3 I'd be just plain embarrassed.