Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
12-19-2013, 01:22 PM - 1 Like   #1

K-3 exchanged ... my image sharpness issue identified & solved

Hi,

This is my 28-day experience with the K-3 after 410 pictures. Hopefully, this might help some people who may be having problems with image sharpness. Please forgive the length of this post as I would like to document everything.

While pros were debating K-3 image sharpness issues around the web, a newbie here was also quietly having similar kind of problem with soft and blurry images. Didn't notice it until last week as I tried to work through the issue.

My K-3 was the regular edition with 18-135 WR bought from Adorama.

Symptoms

1. Even raw images (my use for jpeg are backup only) are not sharp 99% of the time when viewed at 100%. I guess it would be the same with jpeg.
2. All of the ones that are 100% pixel peeping sharp or decent are with the use of built-in flash.
3. Images just don't pop. Colors seem dull. For this type of camera, I would say just ok quality. Don't know how else to explain it.

Tried

1. Tried different shutter speed thinking they are slow and my hands are shaky. Did not help.
2. Tried using my decent (Slik 330CX Pro) tripod for all pictures. Nope. May be not sturdy enough? May be anything with the word Pro in it is not necessarily for Pro?
3. NR settings. I wasn't even sure if it affects raw or not. But, what the heck. Worth a try. Nope. At least with raw, I don't have to troubleshoot jpeg engine.
4. SR on/off. Nope.
5. Initially tested the lens for front & back focusing using easy AA batteries shots (followed an online article). Seems fine.
6. Thinking it was my skills, I watched 16 hour worth of videos non-stop on photography. Remember, I'm just a hobbyist. Not even enthusiast or semi-pro.
7. May be mirror slap with dslr? 2 sec delay timer is needed? Mirror lockup thingy. Nope.