Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-23-2013, 03:12 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Lenses for the K-3

What's your favorite lens to use on the K-3?
I am still learning my way around the K-3 and I love the flexibility of the 18-135 lens but am curious to know what everyone else is using and why?
I imagine that there are other lenses out there with better image quality so I want to be on the lookout to possibly add to my lens collection in the future.

12-23-2013, 03:30 PM   #2

I'm in the exactly same position having only the 18-135mm.

I have my eyes fixed on the Pentax 31mm Limited or the new Pentax 20-40mm Limited. Just don't know which one to chose. The 31mm should have an exellent "magic" or "pixie-dust" picture quality - but maybe the 20-30mm does too and then adds zoom. If so, I will of course chose the later.

But "magic" and "pixie-dust" picture quality? Hmmm...sounds nice ;-)

Last edited by Ztrejfer; 12-23-2013 at 03:41 PM.
12-23-2013, 03:47 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by peterjcb Quote
I am still learning my way around the K-3 and I love the flexibility of the 18-135 lens but am curious to know what everyone else is using and why?
I imagine that there are other lenses out there with better image quality so I want to be on the lookout to possibly add to my lens collection in the future.
I will be the first to ask you: what do you like to take pictures of and where?
My favorites are situation specific:
Most wildlife is a DA*300 (amazing resolution)
Indoor sports is Sigma 70-200 2.8 OS (fast AF and sharp)
Family outing is the DA 18-135 (flexible, don't have to change lenses)
For macro I like the DFA 100WR (sharp and goes to 1:1 magnification)
For street I use most the DA21 LTD (wide, quick, small, light)

Last edited by crewl1; 12-23-2013 at 05:18 PM.
12-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #4