Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2014, 09:27 AM   #1

K-3 and FA lens problem

I have a problem, and can't seem to find an answer. I thought I'd see if anyone here has a solution for me. I'm not an expert by any means, so perhaps what I want to do isn't even possible.
About 12 years ago, I purchased a Pentax FA 100mmF4.7 - 300mmF.8 lens. (that's what it says on the box. On the lens itself, it says SMC Pentax-FA 1:4.7-5.8 100-300 mm). I don't remember the camera model I purchased it for - it was a film SLR though.
About 8 years ago, I got a Pentax K100; I wanted to try digital photography and I had read that my older lenses would work with the new camera. It did, I was happy! Later, I got a Pentax K200 - the lens worked with this camera too.
But my faithful lens does not work with the K-3. I'm about to go on a trip to the Rockies and really wanted this lens to work on my new camera. Any help or suggestions you have would be helpful, and I appreciate your help.

08-08-2014, 09:43 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi, welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Could you explain what you mean by "does not work"?

Steve
08-08-2014, 09:51 AM   #3

Original Poster
I can attach the lens as usual. The autofocus feature doesn't focus or anything. When I press the button, nothing happens at all (no sound, no lens movement). I thought that perhaps the autofocus simply didn't work. So I switched it to manual focus. Obviously, I could then focus clearly, but again when I press the button nothing happens. So the camera is unable to take a picture with this lens. I hope that explains my problem better.
08-08-2014, 10:45 AM   #4

do your adapture ring set to A, or the k-3 do custom to allow the use adapture ring?

08-08-2014, 10:52 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums