Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2014, 08:43 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Automatic focus on a K-3 - definitive guide?

I am delighted with my K-3 but am having trouble really understanding the various Autofocus options and frankly find the manual useless. I realise that this may be covered in parts on a number of threads but here's my question.

Is there anywhere - in this forum or elsewhere - that gives a complete and understandable account of how to use all the many options in the K3 autofocus system?

For example, what does it mean to have all these focus points? Why is this such a good thing (it's just confusing to me!)?

What is best for landscape photography - I'm guessing not AF-C?

What is best for portrait - single point on the eyes, I imagine, but then what happens if the subject moves?

As you may have realised by now, you're dealing with a beginner here. I jumped straight from an early iDSL to the K3,so I've never had any previous experience with such a complex system - which I'm sure is excellent, if you understand it.

10-04-2014, 09:12 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not definitive but here is some information.

I generally use center point, AF-S. More from habit than anything else. However, that mode is still very reliable and useful for just about anything that is not moving.

Next is AF-S with select AF point, I resisted using this for a long time, but I am finding it more and more useful as I practice with it. Yes you can focus and recompose using the center point but sometimes selecting a particular point just works better. I am using it a lot with tabletop work, camera is on the tripod so moving the selected AF point around allows the composition to remain static.