Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-12-2014, 09:59 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

K3 AF Micro Adjustment Problems

Hi:

Hope everyone is well.

I was looking for some advice with a problem I seem to be having with my K3.

Just as a note, I have previously owned a k20d, k7, and currently own a K5, two K5ii bodies, and a K3. I have been shooting seriously for about 5 years. So, not a super long time, but not new, either.

All of my lenses, Pentax and Sigma, need adjustment on the K3.

With my other Pentax camera bodies all of the Pentax lenses are just fine, as is, in terms of autofocus. The Sigmas almost always have back focused and I have adjusted for that. The Sigmas, even with micro adjustment can be quirky, but I am used to that.

On my K3 the auto focus is all over the place, even with the micro adjustments.

For example, I can put on my 31 Lmtd, and at micro adjustment 0 pictures are out of focus. A slight bump to +1 can fix things fairly well (at least on a tripod, in my house, pointed at a static object). I also can adjust through the range from 0 to +10 and also from 0 to -10. At +1 things improve, then get slightly blurry through +4 then are fine again at +6 or +7. How is this possible?

When I used a +8 on the 31 Lmtd the other day taking pictures of our children in an indoor play place (because my previously tripod/micro adjustment testing showed +8 was the best, all of the pictures of my children (in florescent lighting about 20-30 feet away) were blurry.

My 43 Lmtd and 24 Sigma exhibit the same kind of variability with the K3 micro adjustments, though a little less drastic.

So, I guess my questions are:

1. Has anyone else had what appears to be erratic autofocus and micro adjustments issues on their K3 such that you can get different results under testing out the various micro adjustments on different days and under different lighting conditions?