Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2014, 11:24 AM   #1

Viewfinder clarity

My first camera was a D90 & last year switched to the K3. I'm a hobbyist, so definitely still learning. But the viewfinder on my camera looks grainy when pointed at a white wall or a bright sky/background - not clear at all. Is this normal? When I asked my retailer, they didn't notice anything. Seems odd, so thought I'd ask other users. ???

11-03-2014, 11:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I'm not familiar with the D90, so I'm not sure how they compare, but I imagine you're seeing the matte ground of the focusing screen.
11-03-2014, 11:51 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You are seeing the ground glass of the focusing screen. It is present in all DSLRs but depending on the 'grain' of the screen and the lighting it may or may not be noticeable.

Focusing screen - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

---------- Post added 11-03-14 at 10:53 AM ----------

Also, have you adjusted the diopter on the viewfinder? That can cause the screen to be more or less visible.

School Of Digital Photography: Why and How to Use the Diopter Adjustment on Your DSLR Camera
11-03-2014, 12:13 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by tvdtvdtvd Quote
I'm not familiar with the D90, so I'm not sure how they compare, but I imagine you're seeing the matte ground of the focusing screen.
I bet that is exactly what I'm seeing. I will do some more research. Definitely different than the old Nikon D90. Thank you for replying.

11-03-2014, 12:18 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Questions similar to yours come up two or three times a month on the Pentax Forums.