Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2014, 12:47 AM   #1

About Focusing screens

Hi to all,
recently I placed on my K3 an "Bresson" dual 45° split image focusing screen bought on ebay. Pressing green button to read correct exposure seems works fine, with M mode, from 1,2 to 2,8 on my manual lenses but in I use from 4 to 11 the images are really too too overexposed.
And then I placed again factory K3 screen and, whit the same test, it's all ok!
Is there a problem of my focusing screen or it's normal with any focusing screens? I'm thinking about to buy and Canon ee-s focusing screen but if the problem would then be the same I don't buy it.
Could anyone tell me his really experience and suggestions?

12-30-2014, 02:03 AM   #2

I'm not an expert, so I'm sure somebody more knowledgable will pop along soon. However, I believe DSLRs meter the exposure after the focus screen and split screen focus screens always effect metering. I think some metering modes are effected more (spot metering, I think) more than others. The ee-s screen aren't as renowned for effecting the metering, or at least if they do it's in a more consistent manner.
12-30-2014, 03:01 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Years ago I put a Katzeye focusing screen with OptiBrite in my K20D and never noticed any metering issues. Your issues could be related to your metering mode. Katzeye's website recommends not using the spot metering mode on lenses slower than 2.0 for the K10D, and they suggested this may be true for the K20D too. With my K20D I typically used the spot metering mode and never noticed any metering issues in any of my lenses, so maybe the K20D doesn't have the same issue. However, this issue may be true for the K3. Try it with different metering modes and see if that affects your results.
12-30-2014, 03:07 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by david94903 Quote