Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-30-2014, 11:41 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Memory card Settings

I am new to digital photography and while I am having fun taking pictures with my K3 I'm not beginning to be able to use all of the great features of this camera primarily out of ignorance. I find the manual to be very poor as a source of help. I have formatted two memory cards following the instructions in the manual and each time I select RAW DNG but my camera shows JPEG when I'm done. Is there any simple way to determine whether I'm actually taking RAW pictures without pressing fourteen buttons and entering a secret code?

My next challenge is to install the latest firmware 1.11 to my camera. The instructions say that "updates to the camera firmware" appears in the LCD monitor. Which monitor? I assume that its the one on the back of the camera but...

The real problem I have is with instruction 6. "Press the four way controller to select Start and press the OK button."
As I look at the four way controller I see four buttons. Will this become obvious so that there is no chance for confusion?

It is probably obvious that I am an analog man not a digital person. I'd pay plenty to take a course on the K3 from a human being in person but that isn't an option in the wilds of fly over land....

12-30-2014, 11:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

I don't have a K-3 but I have plenty of other Pentax cameras and they all work the same in this regard. To select RAW or RAW+ just press the Info button and make your selection there.
12-30-2014, 12:09 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Steve.Ledger Quote
I don't have a K-3 but I have plenty of other Pentax cameras and they all work the same in this regard. To select RAW or RAW+ just press the Info button and make your selection there.