Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2015, 09:19 PM   #1

14 Year Old Photographer, External Mic Not Working. Please Help

Hello everyone, I have a large problem that you may be able to help me with. I am a 14 year old photographer, and last year I bought a Pentax K-3. Lately I have gotten into more video work, and I have purchased a 16 inch, shotgun condenser microphone to use with my camera. (It has a built in battery) I have always been using the cheap, and unpractical female XLR - Male 1/4 inch cord, with a 1/4 inch - 1/8 inch adapter.

Recently I got a job to do shoot a video for a wedding (It's in just over a week) and I decided to buy the proper female XLR - 1/8 inch male connecter. Today, I went to the store, and using the new cord, I was not receiving any audio into the camera. We had both the mic, and the cord tested on a professional machine, and they both are fully functional. I then went to my local camera store to test if it was just my camera that is broken, or if it is the cord / mic combo.

I walked in, and unfortunately they did not have any K-3's left in stock. Instead I tested the mic, and new cord on both a nikon d810, and a Panasonic GH4. It worked flawlessly. (At this point I am thinking that my mic jack is broken, or pentax uses a different wiring system for their mics) I then tried using a Seinheiser mic (made for video) on my camera. IT WORKED! I then tried that mic on the GH4, because maybe the GH4 used the wiring that the K-3 didn't.

This is where my mind was BLOWN

Why would the Seinheiser work on my k-3, but not my shotgun? If you say its a loose connection on my mic, its not. My mic worked perfectly on the GH4 and d810.
Whats more peculiar is that when I cranked the mic volume on the k-3 and yelled into the mic, I saw an increase (small) on my indicator. (It's not the built in mic, I was sure to isolate that variable)

I am running firmware 1.11 on my camera.

Overall,