Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2015, 07:09 PM   #1

Black and white in K3

I have had my K3 for a week and I'm a beginner, as well as an idiot. How do you take black and white photos? Or do you just convert them after you download them on the computer? I would like to view the pic as black and white on camera, but I can't figure out how to do that. Do I have to manually change the parameters of a certain filter? The manual doesn't seem to address it an any language that I can understand Thanks!!!

02-27-2015, 07:38 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ckschempp Quote
I have had my K3 for a week and I'm a beginner, as well as an idiot. How do you take black and white photos? Or do you just convert them after you download them on the computer? I would like to view the pic as black and white on camera, but I can't figure out how to do that. Do I have to manually change the parameters of a certain filter? The manual doesn't seem to address it an any language that I can understand Thanks!!!
Go in to the custom image menu (right button on the 4-way pad) and select monochrome. There will also be sliders for parameters such as contrast, sharpness, etc.

Note that this only applies to JPEGs. If you shoot in RAW, the full color image will always be captured. If you want both, shoot in RAW+

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
02-27-2015, 10:55 PM   #3

Original Poster
That was easy! Thank you so much!!
02-28-2015, 01:11 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery