Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2015, 02:16 AM   #1
Forum Member

AF Fine Adjustment Saves the Day!

I recently purchased a K-3 with the Tamron 17-50 2.8. When I started shooting with the Tamron, I noticed that none of my pictures were focused properly. In fact, the focus in all of the images was just in front of the main subject, which lead me to conclude that the lens was front-focusing (I might add that I am an experienced photographer). Well, to cut a long story short, the lens required a -10 adjustment! (lucky it didn't need -11 ). So I thought I'd share this story, so that others in a similar situation will not a.) return the camera or b.) return the lens. Below is a picture I took after the AF Adjustment (raw conversion).

https://www.flickr.com/photos/57058404@N00/17934168583/in/dateposted-public/

06-07-2015, 02:38 AM   #2

I also have a Tamron 17-50 f2.8 that was front focussing, but sadly beyond the fine AF adjustment available on my K5. Happily the Tamron service centre in Perth, Australia (Hartland Camera Repairs) was able to recalibrate the lens with help from Tamron in Japan. It was probably more of a reconstruction that a recalibration, with the whole front element being replaced. It now focusses correctly without fine adjustment and finally lives up to its reputation as an excellent multi-purpose zoom, particularly when stopped down a click or two.
06-07-2015, 03:25 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by You3andme Quote