Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
07-13-2015, 05:07 AM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Live view metering on K3ii with manual lenses

Hi everyone,

Hopefully this is one of those painfully simple "I'm being a silly" sort of questions.

I've only got manual lenses for my K3ii - I'm very new to Pentax.

I've got the hang of metering in M using the green button through the viewfinder to set exposure, however...

1) Is there any way of getting a light meter / EV scale on the LCD in live view so I can meter manually? OR have the LCD show the exposure brightness (as is common across other manufacturers) - it feels like the LCD tries to unify brightness whatever the exposure settings/doesn't change at all.

2) Sometimes the light meter / EV scale on the viewfinder doesn't seem to change/illuminate and read. Is there something I need to do or set to get the meter to activate?

(P.S. I've done the "enable manual aperture" setting change; it's all working OK - it's just manual metering I'm struggling with this far)

Bonus 3) Am I right in thinking that in any other mode but P, I can't close the aperture at all with manual (M) lenses? It seems like whatever it's set to, the camera won't actually actuate the aperture lever unless the camera is in M.

Bonus 4) The metering I have managed to do seems to overexpose using manual lenses by about a +1 stop...is this normal/expected behaviour? I know my old Canon EOS 30D would always overexposure by between 2/3 and 1 stop, so is this just a similar tendency towards overexposure?

Thanks everyone!

07-13-2015, 05:18 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You should half press the shutter button to enable the light meter and get it to show up. The duration it remains on in the viewfinder can be controlled via the menu.