Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2015, 10:41 AM   #1
Forum Member

Good K-3 deal?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Pentax K-3 DSLR Camera Body 15530

Adorama has the K-3 body with Pentax 50mm F/1.8 lens and AF-200FG flash for $649. My first question is, is this a good deal? It seems like the lowest used bodies alone go for on ebay is $5-600 and this is new.

I'm brand new to DSLRs. I'd like to get a 18-135 mm lens as well some time soon and was planning on it being my first but would this lens be good to start with? Is the flash okay for a beginner?

And maybe the most important question is, is this camera way too much for a beginner? I was originally looking at a K-50 or a K-S2 but it looks like the KS2 isn't a whole lot cheaper than the K3 which seems much better but could it be too overwhelming or is it easy to just use new features as I need them? I just want to make sure it's not smarter to go with a lesser camera with my skill level.

Is it worth stretching the budget a little bit to go with this K-3 deal and then jump on a used 18-135 when I find a good deal?

I'd primarily like it for family functions, hiking, zoo pictures and our 8 year old's sports. I'm unlikely to upgrade often. My current camera is a Canon IS S5.

Thanks!

09-17-2015, 10:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by leonardotmnt Quote
Pentax K-3 DSLR Camera Body 15530

Adorama has the K-3 body with Pentax 50mm F/1.8 lens and AF-200FG flash for $649. My first question is, is this a good deal? It seems like the lowest used bodies alone go for on ebay is $5-600 and this is new.