Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2016, 07:17 AM   #1

Pentax K3 II with Pentax AF-160 FC Flash

I have always reckoned I am a proficient photographer from the days of the Asahi Pentax ES11 (70s) up to now, This week I purchased an AF-160FC Ring Flash and it is a sturdy piece of equipment nothing flimsy radiating confidence.
For the life of me I cannot get a recognizable exposure, it's either over exposed or an unsharp image. I started out with fully automatic on the camera and flash, then from then on various combinations with no luck. Is there anyone who can point me in the right direction so that I can get at least one decent shot and then play around?

Attached Images
File Type: pdf AF-160FC-OPM-EN.pdf (1.62 MB, 275 views)
01-22-2016, 07:59 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Dobson Quote
I have always reckoned I am a proficient photographer from the days of the Asahi Pentax ES11 (70s) up to now, This week I purchased an AF-160FC Ring Flash and it is a sturdy piece of equipment nothing flimsy radiating confidence.
For the life of me I cannot get a recognizable exposure, it's either over exposed or an unsharp image. I started out with fully automatic on the camera and flash, then from then on various combinations with no luck. Is there anyone who can point me in the right direction so that I can get at least one decent shot and then play around?
What camera and lens are you using? What settings are you using on the camera as well as on the 160? Do you have an example photo with the exif data intact?
01-22-2016, 08:28 AM   #3
Huy
Forum Member

I started out with fully automatic on the camera and flash, then from then on various combinations with no luck.
Have you tried to set the camera in full manual mode and only the flash in P-TTL mode?