Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-19-2017, 06:00 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How did this happen? Multiple exposure...

I bought a used K-3 a month or so ago and have already put nearly 2000 pics on it. It really is a big step up from my K-30.
I've not had any problems until...
I was shooting artefacts in a museum. I was with a group, and so I had to move rather quickly, and I wasn't checking out each shot as I went.
When I had time later to check my shots, all is fine for the first 20 shots or so, then...
I have 7 shots that are all mutiple exposure, then a normal single exposure, then 2 multiple exposures, then a normal single, then a multiple exposure.... and that's when I happened to check a shot and saw what was going on.
Somehow the exposure mode got into multiple exposure (which I have never used before), and I have never had an issue like this on any of my previous cameras. When I checked, I saw that indeed it was on multiple exposure (composite: average; 5 exposures), so I lost a lot of pictures I had taken, since the composites were a jumble of images. I certainly don't remember accidentally pushing any button to switch mode, and I'm trying to figure out how it switched to multiple > single > multiple > single...

What am I missing? Did I accidentally bump some button? Getting from single to multiple would take hitting the exposure button then moving 6 times to the right or 3 times to the left, so that certainly is not an accident?

The camera performed wonderfully the rest of the time, but this confuses me, and I don't want to repeat it. Thanks for any insight.

01-19-2017, 06:34 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

As it's a used unit, check none of the buttons have been reprogrammed to allow one-touch access to multi-exposure. In any event might be worth doing a factory reset to ensure no other surprises are lurking.
01-19-2017, 09:16 AM   #3