Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2023, 08:32 AM - 2 Likes   #1

Astrotracer Setup Questions

Hi, please excuse this post, but I'm completely new to Pentax cameras and (in particular) the Astrotracer functionality (all of my photography experience being Canon-based).

I've just purchased a Pentax K-3 II and I'm hoping to get some good astro imaging done.

Can anyone help with:
♦ Complete step-by-step setup for Astrotracer, including GPS, Bulb mode and imaging.
♦ I've read (somewhere) that configuring the lens is important, if so, why? and how is this done?
♦ Remote Android control of Camera

Any other settings required? ie white balance, colour etc?

thanks

02-15-2023, 08:47 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You might find some help in this thread (see below). Post #2 has some good references. There are a lot of other Astrotracer related posts in this forum and you can search for them using the forum search tool. So far as I know, no one has written a definitive users manual which covers all Pentax cameras offering Astrotracer as a feature. That would be a good "Article" for this forum if someone out there has the knowledge and would consider it. However, by referring to the user manual and the various posts here, you can get a good start in using this beneficial Pentax tool.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/210-pentax-k-3-iii/449261-using-k-3iii-a...-type-3-a.html

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/search.php?searchid=61032920&cx=partner-...&q=ASTROTracer