Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2013, 10:39 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Smarter focus tracking with Real-Time Scene Analysis and SAFOX 11

Pentax has added a custom setting that allows you to set the camera to more reliably keep track of a subject even in the event of an obstruction between the camera and the subject. Obviously, this is only possible because of the new SAFOX 11 AF system and Real-Time Scene Analysis System powered by the 86,000 pixel RGB metering sensor.

More videos demonstrating the new technologies in the K-3 can be found in the pentaxplus YouTube channel. Read all about these technologies here.

This feature is a big deal to me. I'm a sports photographer for my college, and assuming Ricoh implemented this correctly, this will be a real godsend.

--DragonLord

10-07-2013, 10:48 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm hoping it'll work as advertised! Regardless the K-3 should be a step above the K-5's AF system no matter how you look at it

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
10-07-2013, 10:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

and lets hope the new auto tracking works better than the k-5 for subjects moving toward you!

Last edited by Chaos_Realm; 10-07-2013 at 11:01 PM.
10-07-2013, 11:36 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The tech sounds great but the example in the video is not a good one...

Regarding the AF on the K-5II, besides the low light locking is it noticeably faster than K-5? I am ready for the plunge

10-08-2013, 02:51 AM   #5
Veteran Member