Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2016, 03:31 PM   #29266
Site Supporter
robtcorl's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, MO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,571
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
It's only you guys that don't use 230V. It's always 230V and 10 or 15 Amps most everywhere else
We have an electric water heater in our house, it's 220 V, but there are 110/120 V ones too.

09-22-2016, 03:51 PM   #29267
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,393
QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
We have an electric water heater in our house, it's 220 V, but there are 110/120 V ones too.
I thought your circuits were all 110V? My apologies!
09-22-2016, 04:11 PM   #29268
Site Supporter
robtcorl's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, MO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,571
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
I thought your circuits were all 110V? My apologies!
No apologies needed.
Most everything is 110 except for stoves, air conditioners, furnaces, and water heaters.
Then we put 110 and 110 together.
Our house is all electric.
09-22-2016, 04:34 PM   #29269
Pentaxian
bertwert's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Golden, BC
Photos: Albums
Posts: 5,456
Been off of here (and the internet) for a week, anything interesting happen? (Except Rupert being banned...)

09-22-2016, 04:47 PM   #29270
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,393
QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
No apologies needed.
Most everything is 110 except for stoves, air conditioners, furnaces, and water heaters.
Then we put 110 and 110 together.
Our house is all electric.
Interesting! How do you do that? What's the line voltage coming to the house from the street? (And single phase or 3-phase?) Our line voltage is 230V per phase, which works out to 400V 3-phase. Many properties only tap off a single phase.
09-22-2016, 04:52 PM - 3 Likes   #29271
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,393
QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
Been off of here (and the internet) for a week, anything interesting happen? (Except Rupert being banned...)
Welcome back Bert! Well lets see... In the week that was:

Someone tried to make it a photography thread (Odd, I know!) then we ventured into tractors and lawns and lawnmowing before venturing to four wheel driving until Rob guided us back to food and before Savoche tried to burn his house down. I think that about sums it up. (Other than the topic you mentioned and which I won't comment about.)
09-22-2016, 05:09 PM   #29272
Pentaxian
bertwert's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Golden, BC
Photos: Albums
Posts: 5,456
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
Someone tried to make it a photography thread (Odd, I know!) then we ventured into tractors and lawns and lawnmowing before venturing to four wheel driving until Rob guided us back to food and before Savoche tried to burn his house down. I think that about sums it up. (Other than the topic you mentioned and which I won't comment about.)
A normal week...

Anything else happening on the interwebs?
I see there are new cameras from other manufacturers and Leica impressionists...
09-22-2016, 05:12 PM   #29273
Site Supporter
robtcorl's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, MO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,571
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
Interesting! How do you do that? What's the line voltage coming to the house from the street? (And single phase or 3-phase?) Our line voltage is 230V per phase, which works out to 400V 3-phase. Many properties only tap off a single phase.
Sorry Mark, electricity is a mystery to me.
I have an an electrician son, that's all I need to know.
Maybe it's sort of like pixie dust??

09-22-2016, 05:13 PM   #29274
Site Supporter
robtcorl's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Louis, MO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,571
QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
I see there are new cameras from other manufacturers and Leica impressionists...
You looking to get banned from this thread?
09-22-2016, 05:26 PM   #29275
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter
Parallax's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Dakota
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 15,591
QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
A normal week...

Anything else happening on the interwebs?
I see there are new cameras from other manufacturers and Leica impressionists...
Gear talk?
In this thread?
Seriously?
You have been away too long.
09-22-2016, 06:38 PM   #29276
Moderator
Site Supporter
MarkJerling's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 6,393
QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
Sorry Mark, electricity is a mystery to me.
I have an an electrician son, that's all I need to know.
Maybe it's sort of like pixie dust??
Compressed smoke! When the smoke gets out, it's stuffed!
09-22-2016, 07:23 PM   #29277
Moderator
Racer X 69's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Great Pacific Northwet
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 10,594
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
It's only you guys that don't use 230V. It's always 230V and 10 or 15 Amps most everywhere else. I can confirm that a 230v 15A shock is quite nasty.


My hot water heaters run on 220.


Its the house current for wall outlets and lighting that takes 110.
09-22-2016, 07:38 PM   #29278
Moderator
Racer X 69's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Great Pacific Northwet
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 10,594
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
Interesting! How do you do that? What's the line voltage coming to the house from the street? (And single phase or 3-phase?) Our line voltage is 230V per phase, which works out to 400V 3-phase. Many properties only tap off a single phase.




At most homes the power is delivered at 220v single phase from the transformer. The main panel will have a 200 amp capacity with two 110v buses. For 220 circuits the two are combined.


Larger homes with higher load demands will have a 400 amp service, but the panel configuration is the same.


Businesses with high draw machinery will have a 440v 3 phase service. Essentially 3 110v circuits.


Really large businesses, like the factory I work in, have their own substation. The power going into the sub is 115,000v. What goes out, into the factory electrical system is similar to the substations that deliver power elsewhere, usually 17,500v. Then various transformers step the voltage down as needed for lightning and machinery.
09-22-2016, 09:47 PM   #29279
Site Supporter




Join Date: Apr 2011
Photos: Albums
Posts: 3,407
QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
Especially when you see 230 V on the panel's door.
The cable is standard 240V/10A plug in appliance cable. My guess is that it is wired as a plug in appliance which means it is possible the control panel wiring was done as do it yourself. Although, with the quality of some trade work I have seen I would prefer to do my own than pay some guy who cuts corners.

Actually, by using higher voltage you can save on the size of the cable since the current is half as much to put the same power into the water.

---------- Post added 09-23-16 at 03:19 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
We have an electric water heater in our house, it's 220 V, but there are 110/120 V ones too.
Your 220 is wired phase to phase, the 110 ones are wired phase to ground.

What you can have depends on whether your supplier has connected you to only one phase or to two or three phases.

---------- Post added 09-23-16 at 03:20 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
I thought your circuits were all 110V? My apologies!
See my last post.

---------- Post added 09-23-16 at 03:21 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
Been off of here (and the internet) for a week, anything interesting happen? (Except Rupert being banned...)
Oh. He is absent. A good example of my comments on the problem of the mind recognising the present but not the absent. That explains why it has been strangely silent.

---------- Post added 09-23-16 at 03:24 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by robtcorl Quote
Sorry Mark, electricity is a mystery to me.
I have an an electrician son, that's all I need to know.
Maybe it's sort of like pixie dust??
No mystery abotu electricity. It follows rules much better than mechanical stuff. Just remember, when doing the sums, when you get to the square root of minus one, jou just keep going. All the other engineers give up, totally baffled, confused and resort cheap amber fluids.

---------- Post added 09-23-16 at 03:25 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
Compressed smoke! When the smoke gets out, it's stuffed!
When it gets out it is not stuffed - think about that!
09-23-2016, 12:23 AM   #29280
Site Supporter
savoche's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lowlands of Norway
Posts: 8,486
QuoteOriginally posted by Parallax Quote
That could have taken an ugly turn.
Indeed!

QuoteOriginally posted by Racer X 69 Quote
Looks like the Magic Smoke leaked out.
Yup, and it's smelly, too

QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
That looks like quite lightweight wiring for a hot water cylinder.
That was my thought, too, but then again, it's just a 10A/230V contraption. And from 1990.

Hopefully the new one will hold on to its smoke somewhat better

The plumbers were on time, polite, and well prepared. I'm trying to figure out what's wrong.

Yeah, I still haven't seen the bill.

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
arctic cold, bacon, basque paella, beer, caffeine, camera, canada, catch 22, cheddar, cheese, dachsunds, dew, drink, dslr, gin, igunaq, k-mount, k3, kids, lutefisk, marital relations, mother, mountain, norm, patent, pentax k-3, pentax lens, possums, research, ricoh, sandwich, scotch, shirley, snoring, spam, toilet, tokyo, veggies, vermont, world
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why I will buy a K3 chicagojohn Pentax K-3 80 09-18-2016 08:42 AM
Suggestion Neutralize the 'why I won't buy a k-3' thread crewl1 Site Suggestions and Help 61 10-04-2014 05:08 PM
Why I Won't Be Buying A K5IIs Racer X 69 Pentax K-5 40 02-03-2014 08:12 PM
Why I don't buy Pentax lenses keyser Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 44 12-20-2012 01:58 AM
I feel so old: 8 things the facebook gen won't buy Nesster General Talk 27 04-22-2012 11:01 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top