Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 108795 Likes Search this Thread
01-26-2014, 09:52 AM   #3856
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by tclausen Quote
Sounds like quite a death-truck, Racer X 69....are you doing this on purpose, or are there really no ways of avoiding executing beautiful little living beings when driving in your neck of the woods?

I don't drive a truck, and only about 1/3 of the milage that you do, but I've never not been able to break to avoid running over (or into) any living beings.

Actually I moved into my 4th truck last August. Since retiring after 30 years as a heavy equipment mechanic I've been at this (driving a truck) for 5 years this coming May.

No, I don't do this on purpose (the killing of innocent creatures), they just haven't evolved the sense to stay off the highway.

Oh, and my "neck of the woods" covers all of the lower 48, and (so far) 6 Canadian provinces.

As far as being able to apply the brakes, or swerve to avoid, and prevent the demise of the living beings, well, once 80,000lbs of rolling steel gets moving, it takes a bit to slow it down, and any sudden change in direction may result in catastrophic results. Think about it. A truck weighs about 26 times more than the average car, is 1.5 times wider, 3 times taller, and about 5.5 times longer.

Avoiding birds on the wing is impossible, even in a car. I've hit quite a few birds while traveling in my car, and not once was I able to avoid the impact. When the deer ran into the front of the rig there was not even time to lift off of the accelerator. She came out so quickly from the roadside there really was no time to react.