Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 108819 Likes Search this Thread
06-09-2018, 03:21 AM - 2 Likes   #47461
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Racer X 69 Quote
I have a degree in Wrenchology.

A 4 year state indentured apprenticeship.

Apprenticeship.

The original 4 year degree.

Call me Mr. Good.

Because Mr. Good Wrenches here.
Probably make more money than a typical graduate and without the loans.

Now to add some confusion ... (Tim60 would probably get this )

I got a BA degree in 3 years in England. Actually, I earned the degree in 2 years and the 3rd year was the honours year. If I hadn't qualified to do it in 3 years, I would have had to go to a lesser university or technical college to get a degree in 4 years. 3 or so years after my BA, it was raised to MA. I was eligible to do a PhD immediately after the BA.

The subject was "Mechanical Sciences" because the powers that be in the university way back when didn't consider engineering to be a degree-worthy subject. Not academic. Engineering, they decreed, is done in technical colleges and via apprenticeships. It was changed to "Engineering" a year later. There were no faculties for accounting, etc. Trades. You could, however, get a degree in Estate Management. Another hangover from the old days for the not-very-bright younger sons of the aristocracy. I knew one guy, a first son, who started off in estate management and changed to history. English history was mostly about his family, so that wasn't too hard.

So, how do you get a BA and an MA in engineering? The university celebrated its 800th anniversary a few years ago and there were some ancient hangovers. Chemical engineers had to do a 4 year degree to cover the chemistry and the engineering.

06-09-2018, 03:41 AM   #47462
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by tim60 Quote