Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 108807 Likes Search this Thread
02-11-2021, 02:19 PM - 2 Likes   #85351
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Racer X 69 Quote
I am currently an aircraft structures mechanic. We have them in our tool boxes, but I still haven’t figured out why. In the six and a half years I’ve been working in aviation, not once have I used one to do my work.

There are some hacks that use them though.

As a hammer.

Which confuses me.

Because in the same toolbox there are usually three different types of hammer, a dead blow, ball peen, and talen.

Why misuse a tool, when one has three choices of the correct one?
I have a an old Sears Craftsman Ball Peen hammer, that has helped me 'persuade' recalcitrant metal.

I'm probably misusing it, but it still seems undamaged and is my go to hammer for rough metal work, like 'fixing' my garage door lock's box and strike plate, specifically the strike plate ,
which built up an edge or small metal 'wall' through frost/heat expansion and contraction shifting of door frame.

A few hammers using judicious amount of force and well placed accuracy of hammer blows...soon flattened the strike plate allowing the door to close smoothly again, as the build up metal on the strike plate was creating a metal barrier that stuck the door in place. No damage.

Glad my Ball Peen hammer did the job, as it's the only ball peen hammer I have...I don't have a larger hammer, which would of been the next step.

02-11-2021, 03:09 PM - 4 Likes   #85352
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by lesmore49 Quote
When I was a kid, reading Hot Rod magazine (1960's) I used to read about Hot Rodders using Dzus fasteners. I was always fascinated by this method.

Dzus fastener - Wikipedia

Breaking news...now on the weather front. In Winterpeg, the current temperature is -27 C, tonight's low is -35 .