Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
10-12-2013, 09:13 PM - 1 Like   #16
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are a lot of pro photographers using aps-c cameras. I personally know 2 that are using Nikon D300's who won't give them up and a local newspaper reporter who carries a Panasonic Lumix P&S because he's sick of lugging around that @#%%*&$ DSLR as he calls it. Professionals shouldn't be confused with wannabe snobs. The end result is all that matters. I've been a fleet mechanic for over 40 years professionally and have a wide assortment of tools from just about every brand. I have as much stuff from Harbor Freight as from Snap-On and if the cheap Harbor Freight tool does the job, then that's what I'll buy.

Generally, a tool is considered "professional" if it is built to hold up to heavy use and a moderate amount of abuse. A $39 saw will cut just the same a a $139 saw but the framing crew carpenter who is using his saw all day will burn the cheap one up in a few months while the "professional" grade should hold up for a few years. The same is true for the professional photographer. A sports photographer could easily shoot 1000 shots a day and the "professional" spec cameras have features and durability to hold up to that kind of use. Just about every DSLR today from the all plastic entry models on up are capable of stunning shots. For me, I just want something that won't break if I get caught in the rain and won't fall apart in the saddlebags on my Harley. It's a Pentax.

10-12-2013, 09:16 PM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by monochrome Quote