Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2013, 12:21 PM   #46
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by GeneV Quote
The space required is minimal, since the SD memory and plastic case would not be required. Not much in there after those elements are removed.

As to the speed of the card, whatever the current speed of the FLU card, by putting the tethering on the SD card, Pentax effectively froze the speed and size of the card at the capabilities which FLU puts on the card in 2013-2014, and no WiFi card I have ever seen was the largest or fastest available even at the time. Even if it were, it would likely be surpassed quickly by new offerings. Tying two unrelated functions is usually a problem.
Since I'm not an engineer I can't rebut your argument. I'm sure there is some legitimate business reason the Ricoh / Pentax product manager would select an imperfect solution as a half-step to get quasi-Wi-Fi into the camera. I'm confident they are reasonably smart, motivated businessmen. If they haven't moved forward with this technology by the next realease I'll be more concerned.

10-24-2013, 12:37 PM   #47
Veteran Member

I really like the idea of panoramic assist mode even with camera attached to a nodal slide on a tripod ,, I want to be able to capture a scene with minimum amount of shots either vertical or horizotal images and be able to view the jpeg result on camera or using the tethering on a tablet.
10-24-2013, 01:49 PM   #48
Pentaxian

As mentioned in another thread, the regulatory demands of Wi-Fi communications are specific for different jurisdictions. You get into radio frequency issues. The card manufacturers deal with, or have dealt with these. So Ricoh decided to let them worry about that, and focus on the camera functionality.
11-02-2013, 12:02 PM   #49
Col
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
OK had the K-3 for half a day: