Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2013, 10:39 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
In the Field with the Pentax K-3 - First Impressions

I’ll start this with a quick introduction. I’m a visual journalist based in Tokyo. I mainly work in areas related to politics and technology. I’m also the person who makes many of the videos you see here. As such, I’ve been given an opportunity by Ricoh to test a pre-production version of the new Pentax K-3 DSLR and give my first-hand impressions. Please note, I am not giving a professional review, but rather my personal opinion on the camera as a professional in the field. Please do not take my word as final, but rather use my informal thoughts as a piece of the puzzle on how to describe this new camera.

As this is a pre-production camera, I am only permitted to show photos no larger than XGA resolution and must contain a watermark noting the pre-production status. I’m not a fan of such restrictions, but I must respect the conditions I agreed to.

First, I’ll say I did not notice an immediate difference on looks alone. After a few moments with the layout, it became clear that this was a fairly different setup from previous models. I spent the first night with the camera going through the manual and configuring it to my needs.

One important change I’m happy with is the relocation of the AF button. It’s in a far more comfortable location. This is quite important to me as I disable autofocus on the shutter button and only allow if by use of the AF button. This allows for better control over my autofocus needs.

Another major plus is the mode dial lock switch. I really was not a fan of the need to push a button just to turn the dial. I often switch between AV and M mode. The ability to do this slightly more quickly and easily may not seem like much, but it makes all the difference when a fraction of a second is vital, as is often the case in photojournalism.