Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2013, 12:18 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mgomez Quote
Thanks for everyones feed back. There are many points of views in here that I hadn't thought of originally. I've been into photography for only a year so, I'm a newbie (a very motivated one)and looking for all the help I can get.
Load up Google's Picasa program, put your photos into it and click the "I'm Feeling Lucky" button
It mostly does an auto curves/contrast, but it does add "pop" into your images.
I'm not sure what you're going for postprocessing, but that's a big part in making wow images. You actually want mostly "flat" images out of your camera so you don't lose info in the bright/dark parts and can adjust them in post.
Pentax also tends to do more "natural" colors, though they tweaked the defaults a bit in the K-5 to make images "pop" as much as Canikon...the K-3 colors look more natural to me...

11-25-2013, 12:24 PM - 1 Like   #17
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by DogLover Quote
I'll have to admit that I have noticed this lack of "pop" in my K-3 images thus far as well. I was reluctant to post about it because I figured there'd be some backlash. I'm going on the assumption that it's because LR doesn't have the profile yet, and if that's it, then no biggie. Definitely a noticeable and disappointing difference between K-3 images and K-5IIs (or even old K-5) images, though. The camera's performance otherwise is so wonderful that I was reluctant to "back-burner" my K-3 until the LR update is available, but that's what I've done.
The lack of ACR support is a big deal. When I import a bunch of DNG files to ACR, they immediately turn to an odd greenish hue and I have to do a bunch of correcting just to get things back to a normal baseline. But files do have a lot of leeway with processing once you get it "there."