Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2013, 01:58 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I made a mistake - i touched the K-3 - now i need advice

Hello Everyone,

first up, im new to the realm of DSLR. I went to the local Foto Store and asked for advice which product to choose. My budget is about 2.000 .
So i got the usual introductions into Nikon and Canon. Then came a Pentax User and told me to take a closer look at the Pentax line up. I was really thankfull, because i thought the original employee smelled the quick buck and wasnt really into my needs as a new costumer.
Then i got my hands on the K-3 and i have to say it feels right and comfy in my hands. I had a feeling of solid quality. i really loved the feel.

Now here is my dilemma.
Im new at DSLRs. I used some from friends at some points, but never got my own.
I want to have a good sturdy weather proof camera for my journeys. I want to take fotos in two different environments. First landscape and nature when im travelling and secondly pictures at the museum (i work at the museum) when we have events.
I would prefer to buy one good body now and put my money into better lenses in the years to come. I am not very much into "beginners gear" for all my activities. (i would tend to give all the bad results to the "bad quality beginners gear", i try top avoid this excuse by buying good gear from the get go) Thats why tend to buy the new K-3 instead of a cheaper model. It feels great and what i read about it seems to be very impressive.

Now i need your advice, because i only used the tools my friends gave me in the past and never questioned their recommendations.
What would you advice me to buy to get a good start. Here in Germany we have four offers at the moment.

1299,00 body only
1349,00 with 18-55mm kit lens
1549,00 with 18-55mm kit lens and 50-200mm
1649,00 with 18-135mm kit lens